Ginger cake

After a busy few months there has been minimal time to experiment in my kitchen but I am happy to be sharing this recipe today!

This ginger cake was perfection the first time I made it. Spicy, molassey, cakey, moist and everything a ginger cake should be. I took my chocolate orange cake recipe as a base because it has the ideal texture. I made adjustments to it to come up with this ginger cake recipe.

This is a vegan, oil free, refined sugar free, almost fat free but not taste free recipe! If you love ginger cake flavours then you will love this recipe.

I hope you try this ginger cake and if you do please leave me a comment, I would love to hear from you!

Ingredients makes an 8 X 8 inch tin

125g spelt flour (1 cup)

66g oat flour (3/4 cup)

100g sugar of choice, I like coconut (1/2 cup)

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tbsp + 1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp ground cinnamon

90ml soya yoghurt (heaped 1/3 cup)

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

180ml water or non-dairy milk (3/4 cup)

60g molasses (1/4 cup)

Method

Line an 8 X 8 dish with baking paper and preheat oven to 180 C.

Combine the flours, sugar, bicarbonate of soda, salt, ginger and cinnamon in a large mixing bowl.

Add the yoghurt, balsamic vinegar, water/non-dairy milk and molasses to a separate bowl and whisk until smooth.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and lightly whisk until well-combined.

Bake for about 35-40 minutes , until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Leave to cool completely.

Ginger Cakes (1)

Leave a Reply

