Fudgy Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

After she had tasted one, I asked my mum to guess the ingredients in these cookies and it took her a while to guess the main ingredient but with a few obvious clues she finally guessed it. Clues included an alternative to butter, not low in fat, something you wouldn’t expect to be in a cookie and a fruit that she wouldn’t associate as a fruit! If you haven’t guessed it by now it is an avocado!

I had a lonely rather ripe avocado in the fridge that needed using before I moved out of my house at uni and as I had so many other fruits and vegetables to eat I thought I would try and bake with it to see what characteristics it gave. I came across this recipe for chocolate chip cookies using avocado and so I changed up the recipe a bit to come up with these mint chocolate chip cookies. The avocado gives a fudgy texture to theses cookies which I really like and definitely something I was hoping for.

I hope you try these cookies and if you do please leave me a comment, I would love to hear from you!

Ingredients makes 12 large cookies

200g oats (2 cups)

1 medium avocado (120g)

180g dates (1 cup)

60ml non-dairy milk (1/4 cup)

1 tsp peppermint extract (I might add more next time)

25g cacao/cocoa powder (1/4 cup)

1 tsp baking powder

40g sugar of choice, I like coconut sugar (1/4 cup)

60g dark chocolate chips (just under 1/2 cup)

 

Method

Heat the oven to 180 C and line a baking pan with baking paper.

Take the oats and blend into a flour, set aside.

Place the avocado, dates, non-dairy milk and peppermint extract into a food processor and blend until smooth.

Add the oat flour, cacao/cocoa powder, baking powder and sugar and process to form a sticky but not wet dough.

Pulse in the chocolate chips so there are visible chunks of chocolate in the dough.

Take handfuls of the cookie dough and roll into even sized balls. Place them on the prepared pan and flatten slightly, these cookies don’t rise or spread.

Bake in the oven for 10 minutes then flip them over and bake on the other side for a further 10 minutes.

Leave them to cool on a wire rack to firm up before enjoying.

Fudgy Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 thoughts on “Fudgy Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. No way, we are totally on the same cookie wavelength!!! Yours look awesome because they are chocolate all the way through YUM! Can’t wait to check out your other recipes because I have a feeling I’m going to like your style based on the abundance of dates in this recipe 🙂 Haha love dates ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

