Poppy Seed Cake with Lemon Icing

I have somehow managed to get one of my housemates, Liz, on board the healthy baking train! I bought her a healthy baking book for her birthday and she was really excited to make something with me. A poppy seed cake caught her eye. Liz knows about my dietary choices and was asking how we could adapt the recipe so that I could have it too. The recipe asked for butter and eggs and yes I could have just used oil and flax eggs but me being me wanting to take it a bit further to make it oil free. I suggested using applesauce with the addition of some coconut butter because I didn’t want it to be too heavy. Well, all I can say is wow, just wow!

I don’t like using oil in baking because it is just pure fat which in my opinion is unnecessary. I don’t feel too bad about coconut butter because it is not just liquid fat but also contains the goodness of the coconut.

In Liz words: despite being low fat it is rich and moist with a soft texture. It is really tasty and has a slight crunch from the poppy seeds. The strong citrus icing offsets the sweetness of the cake which compliments it perfectly.

Well if that is not a compliment about a vegan cake from a non-vegan then I don’t know what is!

I hope you try this cake and if you do please leave me a comment, I would love to hear from you!

Ingredients makes an 8 X 8 inch tin

180g spelt flour

1 tsp baking powder

60g poppy seeds

180g syrup of choice, I like sweet freedom

30g coconut butter

150g applesauce

2 flax eggs – 2 tbsp ground flaxseed mixed with 4 tbsp water

Icing

1/2 cup cashews, soaked

Zest and juice of one lemon

1 1/2 tbsp syrup of choice, I like sweet freedom

Splash of dairy free milk to make it more spreadable, if needed

 

Method

Heat the oven to 180 C and line a pan with baking paper.

Make the flax egg by combining the ground flaxseed and the water and leave to thicken and gel.

Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl.

Mix the wet ingredients together in a separate bowl adding the flax egg to combine.

Pour the dry ingredients into the wet and mix well but don’t over mix.

Pour into the prepared pan and bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes until golden and a skewer inserted into the middle of the cake comes out clean.

While the cake is cooking, make the icing by blending all of the ingredients together until a smooth and spreadable icing has been achieved.

Transfer to a cooling rack and leave to cool fully before icing the cake.

Poppy Seed Cake Sm

Leave a Reply

