Carrot Cake

If someone was to ask me what me favourite cake was, carrot would be one of my top choices. I love everything about it: the moist texture, the spicy flavours, the crunchy nuts and of course a creamy frosting! Nearly every vegan recipe I know uses oil or a dairy free butter but these aren’t foods I choose to eat so I challenged myself to make a cake that met my dietary requirements. I was really happy with this cake and I managed to keep it sugar free too only sweetening it with dates.

I hope you try this carrot cake and if you do please leave me a comment, I would love to hear from you!

Ingredients make an 8″ sandwiched cake

210g spelt flour (1 1/2 cups)

132g oat flour (1 1/2 cups)

2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground ginger

180ml water (3/4 cup)

360ml non-dairy milk (1 1/2 cups)

200g dates (1 heaped cup)

50g chopped walnuts plus a handful of walnut halves for decorating, optional (1/3 cup)

1 large carrot, grated (approx. 150g)

Frosting

1 can coconut milk, refrigerated overnight or frozen for at least an hour.

2 tbsp syrup of choice, I like sweet freedom (or more to taste)

Method

Heat the oven to 180 C and line two 8 inch sandwich tins with baking paper.

Blend together the dates and water until a smooth paste is formed.

In a large bowl mix together the first seven ingredients. Add in the date paste and non-dairy milk, mixing lightly to combine.

Fold in the grated carrots and chopped walnuts, if using.

Divide the mixture evenly between the two cake tins and bake in the oven for approx. 30 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean.

Carefully remove the cake from the tins and leave to cool on a wire rack.

Meanwhile, make the frosting by removing the coconut milk from the fridge or freezer. Turn it upside down and open the can so that the water can be drained and the cream can be used.

Scoop only the coconut cream into a bowl and whisk with an electric whisk for a minute or two. Pour in the syrup while mixing until a smooth spreadable frosting has been achieved. Taste and add more syrup to taste but not too much otherwise it will be too runny to spread on the cake!

Once the cakes have cooled, spread an equal amount of the frosting on two sides of the cake (middle and top).

Decorate with walnuts halves if desired.

Store the cake in the fridge and enjoy.

2015-04-06 10.14.29

Leave a Reply

