Hot Cross Buns

Mmm hot cross buns! I only make them once a year and they are always such a treat. I have made this recipe from the Vegan Village for the past two years but this year I wanted to create myself a challenge of making hot cross buns that are oil and refined-sugar free because that is my type of baking! I also used sultans in this recipe instead of mixed peel as my mum and I are not a fan of it but feel free to use peel if you would prefer.

I have only just considered actually making these at any time of the year because they are just like tea cakes with a cross on them. I might also try putting the dough into a loaf tin and making a fruit bread.

These went down so well with my parents and when they like it, it really is a recipe success!

I hope you try these buns and if you do please leave me a comment, I would love to hear from you!

Ingredients makes 12 buns

500g spelt flour

1/4 tsp salt

2 1/2 tsp ground mixed spice

1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

14g dried yeast

50g sugar of choice, I like coconut sugar

Zest of one lemon

175g raisins

175g sultanas

75g applesauce (room temperature or slightly warmed)

250ml dairy-free milk (slightly warmed)

Crosses

75g spelt flour

5 tbsp water

Glaze

3 tbsp sugar free apricot jam

Method

Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl and then add the applesauce and dairy free milk. Mix well to make a dough.

Knead on a lightly floured surface for 10 minutes, cover and leave in a warm place to rise for up to 2 hours, until the dough has doubled in size.

Turn onto a lightly floured surface and give 4 or 5 kneads to knock out most of the air. Divide the dough into 12 pieces and shape them into balls. Place on a lined baking tray and flatten slightly. Cover again and leave for 45 minutes.

Mix the cross ingredients together to form a thick paste that will pipe. Pipe the crosses onto the buns.

Bake for 20 minutes in a moderately warm oven (approx 160 C) until golden.

As soon as the buns come out of the oven, brush them generously with the sugar free jam and leave to cool.

Best served toasted!Hot X Buns

Leave a Reply

