Chocolate Orange Cake

I had a few oranges laying around and I wanted to make something chocolaty. The two flavours are a perfect combination, so cake it had to be!

The inspiration for this recipe came from Susan’s Chocolate Orange Cake and I played around with the ingredients to make something quite special. I was amazed at the texture, so spongy and moist you wouldn’t know it was vegan and nearly fat free!

077 Cropped

I first made this cake last week and had planned to share it then but I hadn’t quite achieved the right texture on the icing. It is so easy to add too much orange juice then the icing is too runny for the cake. This happened the first time I made it and the result was more of a drizzle cake (definitely not a bad thing, just not what I was trying to achieve).

This cake was demolished (all by myself) within four days! I saved my last orange to make it again and I am so happy with the results. I can see I am going to have a lot of fun with this recipe as a base to make lots of different cakes. I’m thinking lemon drizzle, Victoria Sandwich, coffee, carrot etc. It isn’t overly sweet but in my opinion the icing makes up for it, however feel free to add more sugar to taste.

I hope you try this cake and if you do please leave me a comment, I would love to hear from you!

Ingredients make an 8 X 8 inch tray

105g spelt flour (3/4 cup)

66g oat flour (3/4 cup)

100g sugar of choice, I like coconut sugar (1/2 cup)

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1/2 tsp salt

20g cacao/cocoa power (1/4 cup)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

90ml soy yoghurt (heaped 1/3 cup)

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

180ml water or non-dairy milk (3/4 cup)

60ml fresh orange juice (1/4 cup)

Zest of one orange

Chocolate Icing

2 tbsp powdered sugar of choice

1/2 tbsp cacao/cocoa

1 tsp orange juice

Orange Icing

2 tbsp powdered sugar of choice

1/2 tsp orange juice

Method

Line an 8 X 8 dish with baking paper and preheat oven to 180 C.

Combine the flours, sugar, bicarbonate of soda, salt, cacao/cocoa, and cinnamon in a large mixing bowl.

Add the yogurt, vanilla, balsamic vinegar, water, and orange juice to a separate bowl and whisk until smooth.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and lightly whisk until well-combined.

Stir in the orange zest and pour into the prepared pan.

Bake for about 30-40 minutes , until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Leave to cool completely.

When the cake is cool, make the icings by mixing the ingredients for each icing in separate bowls.

One half teaspoon at a time, stir in enough extra orange juice to make a drizzling consistency. Drizzle the orange icing over the cake, wait a few minutes for it to set, and then drizzle over the chocolate icing.

Cut into desired sized pieces and store leftovers in the fridge.

073

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Orange Cake

  1. I have to confess that I’ve never actually had orange and chocolate together, but now I want to! These look awesome, baking with vegan yogurt makes for such a great texture and I love the double icing drizzle! So creative using orange juice in both frosting too 😀 YUM!

    Like

    1. Believe it or not I don’t actually like oranges but I really like its flavour in the form of zest and juice but definitely not pulp! The yoghurt really does give an awesome texture, I want to experiment further with it. Seeing your comments this morning has seriously made my day and it is only 07:30am! Haha I hope you stick around 🙂 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

